headintheforest

things i like to eat

Adventures in eggs and kale

on March 30, 2012

After a lovely visit to the library, I decided to find myself some food. My first thought was to take myself out to celebrate a successful library trip, but I had to drive past my house to get to the restaurant which caused feelings of guilt. Instead, I decided to stop at the grocery store for some ingredients and, boy, am I pleased that I did!

After library lunch:

Lemon Dill Egg Salad Sandwich with Kale Chips

for the egg salad

2 eggs

1 1/2 tbsp sour cream

1/4 tsp dry mustard

1/4 tsp dill

1/4 tsp lemon zest

1 tbsp diced green onion

dash of sea salt and pepper

This step can be done in advance: Put the eggs in a pot. Fill the pot with water until the eggs are just covered. Add a splash of vinegar to contain the eggs if they crack. Bring the water to a boil. Turn the heat off, put a lid on the pot and leave for ten minutes. Drain the hot water and run cold water over the eggs to halt the cooking process. Refrigerate until needed.

Mix the sour cream, mustard, dill, lemon zest, green onions, sea salt and pepper in a bowl.

Chop the eggs. Add the eggs and stir to coat. Scoop into a bun, add some lettuce and enjoy!

for the kale chips 

from Allrecipes

2 handfuls of kale leaves (ripped off the midrib – the hard middle part)

1/2 tbsp olive oil

sprinkle of sea salt

Preheat the oven to 350F. Place the ripped up kale leaves on a parchment lined cookie sheet. Drizzle kale with olive oil and toss with your hands to coat lightly and evenly. Sprinkle with sea salt. Bake until the edges brown but are not burnt, 10 to 12 minutes.

Notes on these recipes

I did the tasks in this way to save on time: Turn on the oven. Put the eggs in the water. Prepared the kale. Mixed the egg salad spices and sour cream. Put the kale in the oven. Cooled and chopped the eggs. Mixed the egg salad. Made the sandwich. Took the kale out of the oven. Ate it happily!

This egg salad is very fresh and vibrant with a slight heat from the dry mustard. I used sour cream instead of mayonnaise out of preference and because I think it’s healthier. I like sea salt on my kale chips, but the original recipe calls for seasoning salt and there really is an infinite number of ways that you could flavour them.

How do you like your egg salad?


Leave a comment